Contra Costa College District Board to search for new chancellor, again

Projected to start in January 2024

By Timothy Leong, Director of Communications and Community Relations

At their July 12, 2023, Governing Board meeting, the Contra Costa Community College District trustees announced their decision to move forward with the recruitment of a permanent Chancellor and provided staff with direction to proceed with the recruitment process. The Board is committed to conducting an equitable, inclusive, and transparent search that is consistent with Board policies and district procedures, and that will attract outstanding candidates for this opportunity.

The Board’s goal is to complete the search process and announce the new Chancellor by December 2023, with a start date of January 2024.

“We look forward to the recruitment of our permanent Chancellor,” said Board President Fernando Sandoval. “I join my fellow trustees in welcoming our students, constituency groups, and community’s involvement on choosing the District’s next leader who is equipped to carry on our legacy of affordable and high quality higher education.”

The last chancellor, Dr. Bryan Reece, held the position for just 14 months. He was hired by the board in October 2020, started his tenure in November 2020, placed on paid leave in September 2021 and resigned in February 2022.

Executive Vice Chancellor of Education and Technology Mojdeh Mehdizadeh has been serving as acting chancellor.

Progress reports and updates will be posted on the District website at

For more details about this search, contact Dr. Micaela Ochoa at

About 4CD

The Contra Costa Community College District (4CD) is one of the largest multi-college community college districts in California. The 4CD serves 1.2 million residents, and its boundaries encompass all but 48 of the 734-square-mile land area of Contra Costa County. 4CD is home to Contra Costa College in San Pablo, Diablo Valley College with campuses in Pleasant Hill and San Ramon, and Los Medanos College with campuses in Pittsburg and Brentwood. The District headquarters is located in downtown Martinez. Each college is individually accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges. For more information visit

Allen D. Payton contributed to this report.

No Comments so far.

Leave a Reply