East County Faculty, Staff Honored at ACSA Awards Dinner

By Walter Ruehlig

A record-breaking crowd of 206 attended the 14th annual Association of California School Administrators (ACSA) Region 6 Delta Charter awards dinner ceremony held March 8th at Lone Tree Golf and Event Center. Represented were Antioch, Brentwood, Byron, Knightsen, Liberty, Oakley and Pittsburg School Districts.

Diablo Vista Principal Melanie Jones emceed the event which was organized by ACSA Region 6 Board of Directors President Essence Phillips, Principal at John Muir Elementary; Secretary Jan Steed and Treasurer Yolanda Mendrek, with assistance from Representatives Laura Albano, Kelly Basmagian, Debra Harrington, Roger MacDonald, Cardenas Shackleford and Jeff Varner.

Guidance was also given by Jon Searles, Region 6 Consultant and Bob Gianni, Region 6 Executive.

Paul Rataczak, teacher from Park Middle School, provided the entertainment and Becky Bloomfield donated wine for all the honorees.

Honored were Anne Allen of Oakley Elementary School District for Curriculum and Instruction; Eileen Alterman of Antioch Unified as a Confidential Employee; Pat Boss of Liberty Union as a Central Office Administrator; Dorothy Epps of Pittsburg Unified for Personnel Human Resources; Amy Farias of Antioch Unified as Continuation and Educational Options; Erik Faulkner of Liberty Union as Secondary Principal; Dr.Merrill Grant of Brentwood Union as Superintendent; Roger Macdonald of Oakley Union as Middle Grades Principal; Bev Nicolaisen of Byron Union as Confidential Employee; Enrique Palacios of Pittsburg Unified for Business Services; Essence Phillips of Antioch Unified as Elementary Principal and Phyllis Thivierge of Brentwood Union as Classified Leader.

The group did extraordinary work in extraordinarily trying times.

No Comments so far.

Leave a Reply