Decker, Perry, Clymens share Winner’s Circle at Antioch Speedway

AntiochSpeedwayLogoBy Don Martin II

Saturday night at Antioch Speedway featured another action packed event that entertained the crowd and concluded at a reasonable time.  When the checkered flag flew on the five Main Events, it was Jeff Decker (A Modifieds), Jim Perry Jr. (Wingless Spec Sprints), Trevor Clymens (B Modifieds), Mark Biscardi (Dwarf Cars) and Melissa Hansen (Hobby Stocks), collecting the victories.

All last season, while he was winning the Late Model championship, Jeff Decker was working on his A Modified.  It’s ready now, and he has begun racing in this division as well.  With a few of the name drivers not at the track tonight, defending champion Scott Busby was hoping he might add to his all time division leading win total.  Unfortunately, he ran into to an obstacle in Decker’s #84 car.  Decker drove a good race and earned the victory, forcing Busby to settle for second.  Trent Wentworth enjoyed one of his best efforts in a while as he won his heat race and finished third in the feature.  The other heat race winner, 2014 champion Carl Berendsen II, was fourth as Norm Boeck rounded out the Top 5.

After back to back third place finishes in Wingless Spec Sprint competition, Jim Perry Jr. decided he had enough of that.  The all time winner in Spec Sprint racing with over 40 feature triumphs, Perry Jr. grabbed the lead and set sail for his first win of the season.  Only one early yellow slowed the pace, and Perry Jr. would leave the pack behind from there.  He was chased across the line by his son, Jimmy Perry III.  The father and son are both past division champions.  After winning his heat race, Roy Fisher collected a respectable third ahead of defending champion Kyle Bakkie and heat winner James East.

Last time the Dwarf Cars were in action, Bay Area Dwarf Car competitor Mark Biscardi paid the track a visit and brought home the victory.  He liked it so much that he returned and impressed with another feature win.  Biscardi’s win came ahead of title contender Kevin Miraglio, who is still searching for his first win.  This second place finish was Miraglio’s third Top 3 finish of the season.  Miraglio was also a heat race winner.  Tim Reeder enjoyed his best career finish in third, while heat race winner Chuck Weir was fourth.  Teammates Mike Corsaro and Charlie Correia were fifth and sixth, respectively.  Corsaro came into the night as the point leader ahead of Miraglio.

The Hobby Stocks produced a solid 15 car field, and point leader Guy Ahlwardt was a heat winner along with Danny Jones and two time division champion Melissa Myers.  The Main Event was a fast paced, non stop affair that saw Myers grab the lead.  Once she had it, she would not relinquish it as she became the fifth different feature winner in five races.  Ahlwardt gave a it a good effort before settling for second.  After rolling his daughter’s car in his season debut last time out, past Street Stock champion Rob Waldrop was just happy to keep his car on four wheels.  He did better than that as he grabbed the final podium position in third.

Trevor Clyemens is on a roll in B Modifieds and will creep back up the point leader if this continues.  The second generation leadfoot collected his second straight Main Event victory.  If not for missing a race, Clymens might very well be leading the standings now.  Clymens had to work for this one after starting back in the fifth row.  He steadily worked his way to the front to battle with Brian Pearce for the lead as they hit lapped traffic down the stretch.  Clymens would use traffic to get the win.  Pearce wasn’t as lucky as contact with one of the slower cars sent him into the front wall.  Meanwhile, rookie Shane DeVolder would grab his second runner up finish of the season.  DeVolder came into the night second in points and will gain a little on incoming point leader Al Johnson, who missed the top five this time.  Heat winner Lloyd Cline grabbed a season best third ahead of K.C. Keller and double division racer Danny Jones.  Paul Mulder was the other heat race winner.

Racing continues next Saturday night at Antioch Speedway with a six division program that features Winged 360 Sprint Cars, A Modifieds, Limited Late Models, B Modifieds, Dwarf Cars and California Hardtops.  For further information, check out the official website at
Unofficial Race Results, Saturday Night May 14

A Modified

Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Carl Berendsen II, Trent Wentworth.

Main Event (20 Laps)-Jeff Decker, Scott Busby, Trent Wentworth, Carl Berendsen II, Norm Boeck.

Wingless Spec Sprints

Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Ray Fisher, James East.

Main Event (20 Laps)-Jim Perry Jr., Jimmy Perry III, Fisher, Kyle Bakkie, James East.

Hobby Stocks

Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Guy Ahlwardt, Danny Jones, Melissa Myers.

Main Event (20 Laps)-Myers, Ahlwardt, Rob Waldrop.

B Modifieds

Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Paul Mulder, Lloyd Cline.

Main Event (20 Laps)-Trevor Clymens, Shane DeVolder, Cline, K.C. Keller, Danny Jones.

Dwarf Car

Heat Winners (8 Laps)-Chuck Weir, Kevin Miraglio.

Main Event (20 Laps)-Mark Biscardi, Miraglio, Tim Reeder, Weir, Mike Corsaro, Charlie Correia.

No Comments so far.

Leave a Reply