Antioch museum needs donations of firehouse artifacts

Antioch Historical Museum Board of Directors is currently planning to build a mini-museum Firehouse Garage Display on its property.  This display will present Antioch’s Fire Services history dating back to 1874, when the department consisted of 16 volunteers and eventually became the City of Antioch’s Fire Department.

The two main highlights on display will be the City’s 1927 Ford Model T fire truck and a 1903 water hose wagon cart originally donated many years ago by the Antioch Woman’s Club.

The museum’s Firehouse Committee would like to request all residents who have members of their family serving as former or current firefighters to please consider donating artifacts for use in this new display.  Examples of needed items include:  fire department work and dress uniforms, helmets, masks, badges, certificates, fire extinguishers, alarm boxes, fire hydrants, photos, and other miscellaneous items of interest.  The Display Committee will make the final determination regarding which items will be displayed.

The museum committee members would like to have as many items donated as possible by or before February 15 because the firehouse display is tentatively scheduled to open in May, 2016 with the actual date to be determined later.

Items can be brought to the museum any time on Wednesdays or Saturdays between 1 – 4 p.m. or by special appointment for other times during the week.  Also, adults with experience driving Model T’s who would like to be considered as drivers of the fire truck are welcomed to apply.  People who are interested in going through the drivers training program are also encouraged to apply.

Contact Project Coordinator Tom Menasco at 925-325-3255 for further information or to schedule special non-regular museum hour appointments.  Sponsorship and volunteer opportunities are available for new folks to join the project committee as well.

No Comments so far.

Leave a Reply