Antioch Speedway: Motts with First IMCA Mod Win; Melissa Myers Takes Third Hobby Stock Main

Melissa Myers

Melissa Myers takes sponsor Steve Huddleston for a spin. By Mike Adaskaveg

By Mike Adaskaveg

It was a long road to the Antioch Speedway’s victory lane for San Pablo’s Bobby Motts. After four years behind the wheel of his plain blue modified stock car, Motts steered to the checkered flag in Saturday night April 25th’s International Motor Contest Association (IMCA) main event.

Winners in the five-feature card included Brentwood new mother Melissa Myers, who scored her third win of the season in the Hobby Stock Division; student Kyle Bakkie of Citrus Heights, who brought home the trophy in the Wingless Sprint Division; long-time Concord racer Mike Gustafson, who scored in the Limited Late Model Class; and, Danny Wagner of Bay Point, who fought off all challengers in the Dwarf Car division.

Motts Flawless in Drive to Victory

I’m shaking like a leaf,” were the first words out of Motts’ mouth when he got out of his car in victory lane. ”All these years of trying, and it finally paid off.”

Motts’ car is devoid of graphics and sponsorship decals that cover most stock cars. Instead it is a collaboration of personal time and money of crewmembers Mike Ferry, Bill Garrell and Steve Cunningham.

The guys have been with me for 18 years,” explained Motts, who won the Speedway’s Super Stock championship back in 2004.

The feature event unfolded with the twists and turns of an action movie. IMCA Champ Carl Berendsen of Antioch looked to be in route to a win. Then, halfway through the feature, a tap in turn two from Scott Busby spun out Berendsen and sent both he and Busby to the back of the lineup.

Fairfield’s Sean O’Gara looked to be heading for the win, but he was sidelined with engine problems with five laps to go. As Motts maintained his lead, it was Antioch’s Michael Salazar who charged forward.

I just drove it as hard as I could,” Motts said of the last laps of the race.

Salazar, in his first appearance of the season, had to settle for second.

My car just started fading away on me near the end of the race – I just couldn’t catch Bobby (Motts),” Salazar said. “I’m happy taking second on my first night out.”

Berendsen fought his way up to third from the back of the pack.

You have to break out of the best line to pass – which is a risky move,” Berendsen said. “That late in the race I decided to do damage control and be content with third.”

Chris Elby of Tracy was fourth and Dustin Himes of Manteca completed the top five finishers.

Myers Takes Sponsor for Joy Ride

Sponsor Steve Huddleston, owner of Contra Costa Hardwood Floor Service, jumped into the passenger seat to get a thrilling perspective of his driver’s skills when Melissa Myers fought off champ Kimo Oreta of Vacaville to win the Hobby Stock main event.

I loved every minute of it,” said Huddleston of his ride along. “I’ve been a passenger twice in this car and twice we’ve been in victory lane. Can a sponsor ask for anything more?”

Myers led from start to finish in the non-stop event.

I could see the nose of Kimo’s (Oreta) car alongside of me,” Myers said. “But I knew as long as I did not mess up, I would be o.k.”

Oreta tried lap after lap to catch Myers.

I just couldn’t get my car under hers for a pass,” Oreta said. “She drove clean and I wanted to keep it that way – a good, clean race.”

Jason Jennings of Pittsburg finished third, followed by Michael Cooper and Calvin Louis.

Saturday Night, April 25, 2015 Race Results

Winged 360 Sprint Cars

Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Bradley Terrell, D.J. Freitas.   Main Event (20 Laps)-Alissa Geving, Justin Sanders, Jake Haulot, Peter Paulson, Shawn Arriaga.

Late Models

Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Jeff Decker, Richard Papenhausen.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Troy Foulger, Papenhausen, Decker, Danny Malfatti, Mike Hynes.

IMCA Sport Mods

Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Chuck Golden, Patti Ryland.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Fred Ryland, Golden, Paul Mulder, P. Ryland, Al Sotomayor.

Wingless Spec Sprints

Heat Winner (8 Laps)-Alan Miranda, Kyle Bakkie.  Main Event (20 Laps)-Jimmy Perry III, Marcus Smith, Al Ghiorso, Zachary Kavert, James East.

Dwarf Cars

Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Kevin Miraglio, Danny Wagner, Adam Teves.  Main Event (20 Laps)-David Teves, Wagner, Mike Corsaro, A. Teves, Miraglio.

For the complete story and additional photos click here.

Don Martin II contributed to this report.

For the complete story and additional photos click here.

the attachments to this post:


No Comments so far.

Leave a Reply