Bay Area leaders to Stand Up for Transportation, Thursday

Will urge Congress to pass long-term funding bill

With the national Highway Trust Fund nearly exhausted and the current federal transportation program set to expire May 31, Bay Area transportation leaders will “Stand Up for Transportation” in San Francisco on Thursday, April 9, which the American Public Transportation Association has designated National Infrastructure Day. More than a dozen transportation agency executives will call on Congress to pass a comprehensive transportation bill with predictable, long-term funding for highways, public transit and the rest of America’s transportation networks.

Who: Dave Cortese, MTC Chair and Santa Clara County Supervisor

Maria Ayerdi-Kaplan, Executive Director, Transbay Joint Powers Authority

Arthur L. Dao, Executive Director, Alameda County Transportation Commission

Nuria Fernandez, General Manager and CEO, Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority

Jim Hartnett, General Manager, Caltrain/SamTrans

Randell Iwasaki, Executive Director, Contra Costa Transportation Authority

Nick Josefowitz, Member, BART Board of Directors

Jeff Morales, CEO, California High-Speed Rail Authority

Denis Mulligan, General Manager, Golden Gate Bridge, Highway & Transportation District

Chris Peeples, President, AC Transit Board of Directors

Ed Reiskin, Director of Transportation, San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency

Bijan Sartipi, Director, Caltrans District 4

Michael Tree, Executive Director, Livermore Amador Valley Transit Authority

What: Agency leaders will provide brief but detailed explanations of Bay Area transportation investments imperiled if Congress fails to pass a long-term surface transportation bill.

Watch this short video to learn more about this call to action:

When: Thursday, April 9, 2015, 1 p.m.

Where: Temporary Transbay Terminal, 200 Main Street between Howard & Folsom Streets, San Francisco

The public is urged to contact their Member of Congress and U.S. Senator to ask them to pass the bill. In Antioch, they include Congressmen Jerry McNerney and Mark DeSaulnier and Senators Dianne Feinstein and Barbara Boxer.

No Comments so far.

Leave a Reply