New NAACP East County Branch Officers Elected

By Allen Payton

The East County Branch of the NAACP announced the election of new officers and directors for the 2011 year. The election was held on Thursday evening, November 18, 2010.

The new President of the branch will be Odessa McGahee of Pittsburg. Also elected to the following posts were Idowu Akinleye, First Vice President; David Watts, Second Vice President and Victoria Adams, Treasurer. No one ran for the Secretary of the organization, so that position remains open.

In addition, members elected to the Executive Committee are Marietta Beals, Frances Greene, Willie Mims, Raymond Odienlami, Joseph Adebayo, Betty Burns, Yvonne Beals, Joe Burns, Charles Glasper, Jr., Curlie Jackson, Jessica Alexander, Frankie Robinson, Tique Caul, Dewitt Bussey, III, Cherice Gilliam and Cheryl Cooper. According to current branch president, Joseph Adebayo, the new officers will be inducted at the regular monthly meeting in January.

Formed in 1955, the NAACP East County Branch is a member of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People and works for equality and civil rights. Monthly meetings are held the third Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at the Rivertown Resource Center, 301 West 10th Street, Antioch. For more information visit or call the branch office at 753-5089.

No Comments so far.

Leave a Reply